thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
www.thinkpads.com is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:11 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: T41 - 2 Beeps No Display
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 4:53 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
I just built a T41 with an R51 systemboard. When I power it up I get 2 beeps and no display, although the backlight comes up and the brightness is adjustable. If I pull the RAM I get the usual 1-3-3-1 beep sequence. The RAM and CPU came from a working T41 machine, although it had a GPU problem. The systemboard came from EBay, and the seller said it was tested, but who knows. The only items plugged into it currently are an 802.11b mPCI card and a DVD drive, both of which came from the T41. Any ideas? I am grasping at straws here, hoping someone has seen this. If I were to reply to this thread I would say;

Two short beeps and a blank screen.

1. System board
2. DIMM

..and I know it isn't #2 :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:08 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
OK, making progress. I hooked up an external LCD and I get a display and can get into BIOS. The (2) beeps are due to having to reset date/time. So, the LCD is the next target. I had not personally tested that either.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 6:57 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 8:11 am
Posts: 123
Location: Iron Mountain, MI. USA
Hi Harry,

I was taught to look for the simple things. You sure the LCD cable is all the way plugged in? I surmised that you did the routine GPU Test? The only other thought might be the LCD itself.

Well I am out of thoughts for now. Let us know if and when you solve it..

MnR

_________________
No one is listening, Until you make a mistake...
The U.P of Michigan, The 51st State.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 7:39 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
MnR wrote:
Hi Harry,

I was taught to look for the simple things. You sure the LCD cable is all the way plugged in? I surmised that you did the routine GPU Test? The only other thought might be the LCD itself.

Well I am out of thoughts for now. Let us know if and when you solve it..

MnR

Yes I reseated the LCD connector at the systemboard, and that did not fix the problem. As far as the GPU, this is an Intel board so that would be a remote possibility. I am going to disassemble the LCD and check the connector at the back of the LCD next.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 8:12 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Well, I found the problem. I took the LCD apart and looked at the back. The FRU# on the LCD is 11P8348. Anyone want to guess?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 8:16 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Posts: 2683
Location: Paragould AR USA
It's an SXGA+ LCD and the Intel board can't drive it.

_________________
Collection = T500 - T400 - T61(14" WSXGA+) - X40 (x2)- T43p- T42p - A31P - A30P - 600E - 770


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 8:46 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13503
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
XGA and SXGA+ use the same LCD cable but different inverter.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 8:56 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12581
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Samsung SXGA+ panel, according to HMM...

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 9:10 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Neil wrote:
It's an SXGA+ LCD and the Intel board can't drive it.

Bingo, Neil wins the day :). Here's the original machine specs, and what threw me for awhile;

Product: ThinkPad T41 2373-W5R
Original description: Based 2373-CTO: P M 1.5GHz, 512MB RAM, 40GB 5400rpm HDD, 14.1 XGA(1024x768) TFT LCD, 32MB ATI Radeon 7500, 16x10x24x/8X CD-RW/DVD, option, Modem, 1Gb Ether, UltraNav, Sec Chip, 6 cell Li-Ion batt, WinXP Pro

I put an R51 Intel board in the above machine. So someone, (possibly me) had one too many LCD's and was playing swap around and got confused. It needs an XGA LCD.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group