Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

thinkpad 600 error 301

Older ThinkPads.. from the 600, the 7xx, the iSeries, 300, 500, the Transnote and, of course, the 701
Post Reply
Message
Author
SUSIEJO
Freshman Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 2:34 pm
Location: Leitchfield, Ky

thinkpad 600 error 301

#1 Post by SUSIEJO » Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:20 am

I am trying to fix a thinkpad 600, everything is going good except I have a error code 301. I know that it refers to the keyboard and I have a new one on the way but there is a 24 a few spaces in front of the 301, what is that?
I was getting 161, 163, 192, and the 301. I replaced the cmos battery and now all I get is the 301. Do you think replacing the keyboard will fix it?

Thanks!
IBM Thinkpad 600E
2645-4BU
40 GB HD
544 MB RAM
Win XP Pro.
dvd-rom
I LOVE MY THINKPAD!!!

rkawakami
Admin
Admin
Posts: 10137
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
Contact:

#2 Post by rkawakami » Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:27 am

Try here:

http://www.rkawakami.net/ibm_600x/301errors/

I believe your "E" key is stuck down.
Ray Kawakami
X22 X24 X31 X41 X41T X60 X60s X61 X61s X200 X200s X300 X301 Z60m Z61t Z61p 560 560Z 600 600E 600X T21 T22 T23 T41 T60p T410 T420 T520 W500 W520 R50 A21p A22p A31 A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.

SUSIEJO
Freshman Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 2:34 pm
Location: Leitchfield, Ky

#3 Post by SUSIEJO » Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:32 am

Actually it is missing the 4, 5, 6, and e keys.
Could that cause the error?
IBM Thinkpad 600E
2645-4BU
40 GB HD
544 MB RAM
Win XP Pro.
dvd-rom
I LOVE MY THINKPAD!!!

rkawakami
Admin
Admin
Posts: 10137
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
Contact:

#4 Post by rkawakami » Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:36 am

By "missing", if you mean just the keycaps, then no. However, the rubber dome may be in contact with the contacts on the board. The 301 error code will only display the first key that is "stuck" so if you have multiple stuck keys, then you have to fix them one-by-one.

It's definitely a problem with your keyboard and a new one should eliminate the 301 boot errors.
Ray Kawakami
X22 X24 X31 X41 X41T X60 X60s X61 X61s X200 X200s X300 X301 Z60m Z61t Z61p 560 560Z 600 600E 600X T21 T22 T23 T41 T60p T410 T420 T520 W500 W520 R50 A21p A22p A31 A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.

SUSIEJO
Freshman Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 2:34 pm
Location: Leitchfield, Ky

#5 Post by SUSIEJO » Tue Jun 19, 2007 12:19 pm

Thanks alot!!
I'll definitely check the keys.
IBM Thinkpad 600E
2645-4BU
40 GB HD
544 MB RAM
Win XP Pro.
dvd-rom
I LOVE MY THINKPAD!!!

trent9008
Freshman Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 10:37 pm

#6 Post by trent9008 » Tue Jun 19, 2007 8:26 pm

I got an "E0 301" error on my 600E for a while, not sure what that is supposed to mean, but the only problem was that the ribbon cable wasn't seated properly.

rkawakami
Admin
Admin
Posts: 10137
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
Contact:

#7 Post by rkawakami » Tue Jun 19, 2007 8:48 pm

"E0" can occur with a number of stuck keys. It may have been that the connector was not properly pushed down in the socket and was causing a key scancode to be generated. There's about a dozen keys that I documented on my site that will throw "E0" if stuck down during boot time.
Ray Kawakami
X22 X24 X31 X41 X41T X60 X60s X61 X61s X200 X200s X300 X301 Z60m Z61t Z61p 560 560Z 600 600E 600X T21 T22 T23 T41 T60p T410 T420 T520 W500 W520 R50 A21p A22p A31 A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.

SUSIEJO
Freshman Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 2:34 pm
Location: Leitchfield, Ky

#8 Post by SUSIEJO » Sun Jun 24, 2007 10:29 pm

I got the new keyboard and that fixed the problem.
It works fine.

Thanks everybody!!!

~susiejo
IBM Thinkpad 600E
2645-4BU
40 GB HD
544 MB RAM
Win XP Pro.
dvd-rom
I LOVE MY THINKPAD!!!

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Legacy Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests